News & Events
<< Back
Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards results
22 Aug 2016

2016 Horse of the Year: Mongolian Khan

NZTR Award for Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand racing: Gerald Fell and the late Rex Fell

NZTR Award for Outstanding Global Achievement: Chris Waller

Champion Two-Year-Old: Sacred Elixir

Champion Three-Year-Old: Xtravagant

Champion Sprinter: Turn Me Loose

Champion Middle-Distance Horse: Turn Me Loose

Champion Stayer: Mongolian Khan

Champion Jumper: Jack Romanov & Sea King

Dunstan Trainer of the Year: Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards

FastTrack Insurance Jockey of the Year: Lisa Allpress

FastTrack Insurance Jumps Jockey of the Year: Shaun Fannin

McBeath Apprentice Jockey of the Year: Shaun McKay

FastTrack Insurance Owner of the Year: JML Bloodstock

Breeder of the Year: Sir Patrick and Lady Hogan

Broodmare of the Year: Bagalollies

Owners’ Premiership: Sir Peter Vela

Media Award: Dennis Ryan

Trainers’ Premiership: Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards

Jockeys’ Premiership: Lisa Allpress

New Zealand Bloodstock Filly of the Year: Sofia Rosa

Grosvenor Award: Savabeel

Dewar Award: Savabeel

Centaine Award: Savabeel